Posted on Mar 30th, 2017

The US-Japan Foundation is proud to announce the newest class of Delegates to the US-Japan Leadership Program (USJLP). The purpose of USJLP is to develop a network of communication, friendship and understanding among the next generation of leaders in the U.S. and Japan. The Program aims to foster a continuing dialogue among rising stars in leadership from a variety of backgrounds and professions. It starts this process by bringing together some 20 young leaders, ages 28-42, from each country for two intensive weeklong conferences over two years, with discussions revolving around historical and current issues in bilateral relations, as well as issues reaching beyond our two countries. Through serious conversation as well as recreation and shared cultural activities it seeks to nurture lifelong friendships.
Once selected for the Program, members gain lifelong access to the unique pool of USJLP talent and are able to engage in activities that take place throughout the U.S. and Japan, from intellectual gatherings to informal meetings. After seventeen years, the USJLP network boasts 392 members in both countries. Prominent members of the Program include: Cabinet of Japan minister Taro Kono, members of Japan’s House of Representatives Motohisa Furukawa and Keiichiro Asao, renowned violinist Midori Goto and pianist Gohei Nishikawa, Claire Chino (Executive Officer, Itochu Corporation), Johnathan Capehart (The Washington Post), Nikole Hannah-Jones (The New York Times Magazine), CNN anchor John Berman, Dr. Mona Khanna (Fox Chicago News), composers Todd Frazier and Christopher Theofanidis, racing driver Keiko Ihara, architect Satoshi Okada, NASA astronaut Dan Tani, actor Tetsuya Bessho, U.S. State Senators Aaron Ford (Nevada) and Benjamin Allen (California), former U.S. Ambassador to Sweden Mark Brzezinski, and Olympic silver medalist Yuko Arimori.
The pool of candidates for seats at the 2017 conference was extremely competitive. In addition to leadership criteria, selections for each class aim to shape the unique delegation of first and second-year participants with a diverse representation of professions, geographic areas and perspectives. In total, 19 new Delegates (6 American and 13 Japanese) will join 25 returning second year Delegates for the Program’s Eighteenth Annual Conference in Kyoto and Tokyo from July 23-30, 2017. The Class of 2017-2018 will convene for their second conference next summer, to be held July 28 – August 4, 2018 in Seattle. Delegates will be joined by Fellows (alumni) on the final two days of each conference, creating new and strengthening existing inter-class bonds.

2017 American Delegates

Pat Basu
Senior Vice President
Optum, UnitedHealth Group
2nd Year
Christopher Carr
Research Scientist

Massachusetts Institute of Technology;
Research Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital
2nd Year
Nell Derick Debevoise
Founder & CEO

Inspiring Capital
2nd Year
Brian Ferguson
President & Co-Founder
Arena Labs

1st Year
Nikole Hannah-Jones
Staff Writer
The New York Times Magazine
2nd Year
Nadim Hossain
Founder & Executive Chairman

1st Year
Erin Krampetz
Student, Professional Culinary Farm to Table Program, International Culinary Center

2nd Year
Jeffrey Le
Assistant Cabinet Secretary
Office of the Governor of California,
Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
2nd Year
Margaret Lewis
Professor of Law
Seton Hall University
2nd Year
Joshua Marcuse
Executive Director, Defense Innovation Board Office of the Secretary of Defense 
U.S. Department of Defense

2nd Year
Aerosyn-Lex Mestrovic
2nd Year
Robert Moore
Major; Chief Airborne Networking Branch
Secretary of the Air Force Staff Group
U.S. Air Force
2nd Year
Scott Mulhauser
Visiting Fellow
University of Pennsylvania

1st Year
Kerry O'Connor
Design Director

2nd Year
Sharmeen Premjee
Sr. Public Health Advisor, Global HIV and TB U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1st Year
Eze Redwood
Founder, Rise Fast Initiative;
 Founding Partner, Wings Cafe
2nd Year
Tracey Ross
Associate Director, All-In Cities Initiative PolicyLink

2nd Year
Jessica Tarlov
Sr. Director, Research and Consumer Insight Bustle

2nd Year
Sea Thomas
Major, U.S. Marine Corps;
J2/Intelligence Directorate
U.S. Pacific Command
1st Year
Michael Waltz
CEO, METIS Solutions; 
Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army Special Forces (reserve); Author, Warrior Diplomat

Senior Fellow, Foundation for the Defense of Democracies
2nd Year
Amy Webb
Founder & CEO
Future Today Institute
1st Year
Dawn Yamane Hewett
Deputy General Counsel for Strategic Initiatives U.S. Department of Commerce,
Office of General Counsel
2nd Year


2017 Japanese Delegates

Yutaka Arai
Sapporo Shinyo High School

1st Year
Yusuke Asakura
Visiting Scholar
National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies 2nd Year
Mayumi Fukushima
PhD Candidate, Political Science Department Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2nd Year
Junko Furuta
Commander, Air Operation Control Squadron
Japan Air Self Defense Force 
Ministry of Defense, Japan
2nd Year
Emi Hariyama
2nd Year
Michinao Hashimoto
Assistant Professor
Singapore University of Technology and Design 1st Year 
Makiko Hirata
Classical Pianist
Rice University; River Oaks Chamber Orchestra; Ensemble MATIMA

1st Year 
Sohei Ide
Correspondent, Economic News Section
Kyodo News

2nd Year 
Koji Isozumi
Assistant Principal
Seiko Gakuin High School

Hardy T S Kagimoto
President & CEO

1st Year
Tomoko Kubota
News Caster / Reporter
Tokyo Broadcasting System, Inc.;
Professional Fellow, Weatherhead East Asian Institute, Columbia University

1st Year
Kosuke Mitsumoto
Attorney, URYU & ITOGA;
Executive Director
Sezon Museum of Modern Art

2nd Year 
Keiko Namba
Deputy Director, Second North American Division, North American Affairs Bureau
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

1st Year
Hiro Nozaki
BlackRock, Inc.

1st Year
Koji Okubo
Senior Architect
Nikken Sekkei, Ltd.
1st Year
Eiko Ooka
Director, Corporate Advisory Division
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation

1st Year
Haruko Sasamoto
Assistant Manger, Silicon Valley Branch Mitsubishi Corporation (Americas)

1st Year
Fumino Sugiyama
Founder & President

Tokyo Rainbow Pride 
2nd Year
Mio Takaoka
Managing Director and Member of the Board,
Monex Ventures; Advisor, Monex Group, Inc.

1st Year 
Mayumi Uejima-Carr

1st Year 
Mayu Yamaguchi
PhD Candidate, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics, The University of Tokyo 

1st Year 
Yuji Yamamoto
MinaCare Co., Ltd.

2nd Year


Return to Homepage